Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

TY337

E-filing was already accepted. Can I still mail a 8833 form to the federal government to claim a treaty? Do I need to mail one to the NY state for the same purpose?

I am a Chinese resident alien who has stayed at the New York state over 5 years. Yesterday I successfully e-filed my taxes and got accepted from both. But now I find that I should not have used e-filing since a 8833 form (which Turbotax does not provide) needs to be attached to my taxes return. 

What should I do now? Can I just mail a 8833 form to the federal government and the NY state to claim a treaty? I need to send out the 8833 form because I am a F-1 student who enjoys a China-USA $5000 tax treaty. I used the treaty in my e-filing and I do not need to change anything in my original taxes. I just want to send out the 8833 form. In my taxes return I am going to pay about 50 dollars to the federal government and ask the NY state for 300 dollars as a refund.  

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
KarenJ
Intuit Alumni

E-filing was already accepted. Can I still mail a 8833 form to the federal government to claim a treaty? Do I need to mail one to the NY state for the same purpose?