Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1098-T Making Me Owe $3k in Taxes for Scholarship that Went Toward Tuition

Hi, I would really appreciate some help with this.

I paid for my Spring 2022 tuition in November 2021. My 2021 1098-T reflected this with box 7 checked:

Checked if the amount in box 1 includes amounts for an academic period beginning January - March 2022

Now, my 2022 1098-T has nothing in box 1 for tuition expenses but includes my scholarship in box 5.

According to the official IRS website, scholarships are not taxable if they do not exceed the price paid for tuition. This scholarship that is reported reduced the Spring 2022 tuition cost which I paid for in November 2021. I graduated that semester and did not submit a tuition payment in 2022.

How do I fill out the Turbo Tax form to reflect that this scholarship lowered a payment I did in 2021 for Spring 2022?

Do I have to pay taxes on my Spring 2022 scholarship even though it technically should not be taxable?

I really appreciate any help, thanks.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
KrisD15
Expert Alumni

No.

Back in 2016 the IRS required schools to report what was PAID in the calendar year, not what was BILLED. 

(To clear up confusion just like you are having now) 

If the tuition was billed in December 2021, but the scholarship did not post until 2022, the expense and the scholarship should be on the same 2022 1098-T.