turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Anonymous
Not applicable

I started my LLC in 2017 but I have expenses from around 2014 and maybe even further back I made for the startup. Can I claim these expenses still?

This will be my 1st year filing taxes including the single member LLC. I started the LLC in 2017 but I have expenses from around 2014 and maybe even further back for the start up. Majority of these are computers, equipment, and monthly subscription services strictly for business purposes. Prices range anywhere from $10 to $5000 for the items and the company did generate revenue in 2017 after starting, nothing before that.

Since this is my first year filing, if there are any helpful checklists or things to look for when filing, i'd love to know. Thank you

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
LauraVF

I started my LLC in 2017 but I have expenses from around 2014 and maybe even further back I made for the startup. Can I claim these expenses still?

YES. You can claim those expenses.

The IRS classifies business expenses incurred before the "start of business" as capital expenses and capital assets (computers, equipment, land, furniture, etc.) You have to treat these costs in the following manner:

Capital assets: amortize the assets and recover the costs through annual depreciation.

Capital expenses: different treatments are available. 

• Identify expenses as "start-up costs".
    These are the costs incurred creating an active trade or business or investigating the creation or acquisition of an active trade or business. For example,  advertisement for the opening of the business,  salaries/wages of employees in training, and many others.