turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I work as a carrier for USPS. As a Rural Carrier I drive my own vehicle. A portion of my daily pay is reimbursement for mileage. Can I claim any work related expenses.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
PatriciaV
Employee Tax Expert

I work as a carrier for USPS. As a Rural Carrier I drive my own vehicle. A portion of my daily pay is reimbursement for mileage. Can I claim any work related expenses.

Yes, if you have job-related expenses that are more than the reimbursement you received.

Note that employee job-related expenses are considered Miscellaneous Expenses; total Miscellaneous Expenses must exceed 2 percent of your adjusted gross income (AGI) in order to be included on your tax return.

To enter these expenses in TurboTax:

1. Select Federal Taxes.
  2. Select Deductions & Credits, and in the next screen, click "I'll choose what I work on."
  3. Scroll down the Deductions & Credits screen until you see the Employment Expenses group.
  4. Click on the Start/Update button next to the Job-Related Expenses category.
  5. Follow the prompts.

TurboTax will help you determine if your expenses can be reported and if your total Miscellaneous Expenses meet the threshold to be deductible.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

1 Reply
PatriciaV
Employee Tax Expert

Yes, if you have job-related expenses that are more than the reimbursement you received.