turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How to claim the US-China tax treaty?

I am an international student pursuing a PhD degree. My tax status changed from non-resident alien to resident alien in 2016. The US-China tax treaty Article 20 states students have some credits for tax. How could I claim it? I didn't receive the 1042-S form. I know that I have to include the form 8833 on my tax return generated by TurboTax. But how should I do that? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
LinaJ2018
Intuit Alumni
Intuit Approved! This answer has been verified for accuracy by an Intuit expert employee

You can still apply the tax treaty to your tax return with our software, you will just enter it differently than the normal way.  In the TurboTax program, report your full income usual. Then you can enter the treaty-exempt amount as negative income under "Less common income".  You will have to file a Form 8833 to claim an exception. As TurboTax does not support Form 8833, you cannot e-file.  Instead, you may use the program to prepare your return, but need to print out your tax forms and mail the returns along with the form 8833.   Besides the Form 8833 and 1040, you will also need to submit a copy of your tax documents ( for example, W-2 /Form 1099s) which pertain to any credits and deductions you are applying if there are any. 

1.  For example, if you receive a Form W-2, to report wages:

- Sign into your account and select Take me to my return

- At the right upper corner, in the search box, type in W-2 and Enter 

- Select Jump to w-2, follow prompts to enter your information