turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2019 Limit Deductible Mortgage Interest Question Not working?

I haven’t filed my return. My return has passed all the error screens and is ready to submit. 

Support reached out to me and I sent in a diagnostic file.

Kat
Level 15
Level 15

@pugpapa75 Thank you so much!  Maybe TT can figure out what's going on and fix it!

*** I am NOT a tax expert. I am a seasoned TurboTax user, and volunteer to provide assistance to TT users. Nothing I post is to be considered TAX ADVICE; I bear no legal liability for responses.***

Yes, I successfully e-filed after I change the box in the Forms entry.

By the way, no one mentioned it but I once spent an hour typing the details of the DATES that one loan was paid off and then the new loan started, thinking that would tell the program that it's the same loan.  That did not work. 

Only the forms entry checkbox change worked.

moorek

All,

I was having this same problem. Kept applying the limit (adding I think the original and refi amounts) and then putting me into a standard deduction. To fix it what worked for me was that at the point where I was asked if the limits apply, I said "no." But, I did not click "continue" but instead saved the file and exited TurboTax. Then reopened it and went onto the next section manually. This got me all the way through federal and state checks and it is ready to efile. Haven't done that yet as this is my first pass through and I like to come back a week later and re-check everything. But I think it got me past the problem.