turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Cali92

Moving to the US - do i need to file US taxes? Midway year foreign income

Hi there,

I'm moving in around October to the US from the UK and have earned income in the UK and will continue until September. I'm coming to the US on a k1 visa (fiance) and intend to marry within the same month. I cannot work until I obtain a work permit after I adjust status, which I will receive some time in 2021, so I will have no US income for October to December, nor will I have UK income for these months.

I have never worked in the US before and only entered previously on an esta to visit my future spouse.

I would like to know the best option when my spouse files taxes in January 2021 for this year. If filing married jointly, will I have to show my global income from before I was even admitted to the US in October? Or would it be better to file married filing separately, would this save us from submitting my previous 9 months of UK earned income? Or would I not file at all for that year and wait until the next, once I have a valid work visa?

Sorry for the long question, hoping background info will get a more accurate response. 

Thank you.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
SusanY1
Employee Tax Expert

Until you have a green card and will be a tax resident, you are considered a Nonresident Alien (NRA).  As an NRA you will not have to report your income earned before you move unless you and your spouse elect to file Married Filing Jointly (MFJ).  Your spouse will have the option to file separately using the less favorable Married Filing Separately Status (MFS) and not include your income earned prior to the move for the year.