turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I hired an contractor from foreign country, can I deduct those expenses?

I’m a self employed resident in US. I hired a person that lives outside of US and citizen of another country. So he is not obligated to pay taxes to US. My question is simple. Can I deduct that expenses? So far I paid 500$ to him. Not sure if there will be additional job for him, but  can I deduct those 500$?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
pk
Level 15
Level 15

@RossAngelos , assuming that you are a citizen/resident (Green Card )/ resident for tax purposes you are taxed on your world income  and therefore  allowed to deduct your world wide  expenses  that are attributable  to generating that income.  Thus if you have foreign rental income, then expenses associated  with that income are generally deductible.

The question here  is   (a) is there a foreign  income associated with hiring a foreign contractor ;  (b) was this expense ( paying a foreign contractor ) associated with  personal asset or an income generating asset--- e.g. if you have a second home in a foreign country and you employ a local contractor , then that expense  is not deductible  ( just as it would not be deductible for a second home in the USA ).

So you have to tell -- which country,  what was the  contractor paid for, what type of asset  etc. etc.