Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the Refund! >> Event happening NOW!!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

HexaDash

I didn't FICA for 12 weeks

I did not pay FICA tax for 12 weeks. I was on an F1 visa when I did not have my Employer deduct FICA from my paycheck. Now my status changed from F1 to Permanent Resident. After my status changed, I had my employer change my tax exemption status and I started paying FICA. But I am afraid that now that I am a permanent resident, I will owe FICA for the whole year (since I and my SO are planning to file joint taxes , SO is US citizen).  Will I get penalized for not paying FICA before my change in status and if so, how do I ensure that I don't get hefty penalties. If I were to pay FICA in the months I was on an F1 visa, I would've paid around $1500 in FICA.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

I didn't FICA for 12 weeks

@HexaDash wrote:

. . . I and my SO are planning to file joint taxes . . .

I'm not sure about the answer to your FICA question, but if your "SO" is not your spouse, you cannot file jointly. Filing a joint tax return is only allowed for couples who are actually legally married as of the end of the year.