turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

amahendir

I am an independent contractor abroad. Do I need to enter a 1099 in addition to the 2555, and how?

I have been working in Japan as an independent contractor since 2015. My income is well below the threshold for the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion (so I should owe $0), and I have entered all of it as such on a 2555. I went to submit this, but it said that the following lines of the 1040 have a zero value:

Line 7b - Total income
Line 8b - Adjusted gross income
Line 12a - Tax
Line 12b - Total Tax Before Credits And Other Taxes
Line 13b - Total credits
Line 16 - Total tax
Line 19 - Total payments

This is not correct--my total and adjusted gross income, at the very lease should ABSOLUTELY NOT be 0 on the 1040! So I tried to go back and enter it as self-employment income. Here, I have no form 1099-MISC because the companies I contract with are not based in the US--I just have the Japanese equivalent!--so I tried to enter it as "Other self-employed income". When I did this, it said I owed a ridiculous amount in taxes, presumably because I cannot count this in the system as the income I earned overseas and payed Japanese taxes on and it thinks it's all yet-untaxed income in the US! So this is obviously not correct either. I have no idea what I'm supposed to do here. Please help.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
MaryK4
Expert Alumni

I am an independent contractor abroad. Do I need to enter a 1099 in addition to the 2555, and how?