turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

schragi

Foreign income inclusion on state tax

I lived and worked in Israel (for a local company) for the entirety of 2016, and also paid local taxes. Prior to that I was a resident of Massachussets. Do I need to file an MA state tax? Is it possible to get a foreign income exclusion? Currently TurboTax is not offering any of these options, and is taxing me for the full amount I earned abroad, without taking any of the above parameters into consideration.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
ChristinaS
Expert Alumni

Foreign income inclusion on state tax

Those parameters are not taken into consideration if you are a resident of Massachusetts.

I am unaware of any state having an equivalent to the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion, or allowing a credit for taxes paid to a foreign state/ locality. In general, to minimize/ avoid state tax, you would have to no longer be a resident of Massachusetts. The federal government considers citizens and long term resident taxpayers for their whole lives (expatriation aside), but you are not tied to your "home state" forever. The link below remains on the MA tax site as a source for determining residency.

Since you were abroad all year, it will likely come down to whether or not you have a permanent home in the State of Massachusetts. Most states have a similar basis for residency rules.

Here's what Massachusetts considers a resident- apply this to your situation to determine if you have to file an MA return for the portion of the year that you were abroad:

http://www.mass.gov/dor/businesses/help-and-resources/legal-library/tirs/tirs-by-years/1990-1999-rel...