Which states are community property states? - Community

Why sign in to the Community?

  • Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes

Pick a language

English Français
Get the latest stimulus news and tax filing updates.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which states are community property states?

Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin are all community property states. In addition, Alaska is an "opt-in" community property state.

Generally, the property, income, and assets owned by a married couple residing in a community property state is jointly owned by the couple, with exceptions for property acquired before the marriage or through a gift or inheritance.

However, what is considered community property varies by state and no two community property states follow the same set of rules. Page 4 of IRS Publication 555 provides a general overview.

Couples filing separately in community property states must follow their state's rules when allocating property on their respective returns.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
Privacy Settings