turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

chanch241

I'm a student filing MA resident and NY nonresident."Did u allocate ur income to NY based on the volume of business transacted?" I don't understand this q or follow ups.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

I'm a student filing MA resident and NY nonresident."Did u allocate ur income to NY based on the volume of business transacted?" I don't understand this q or follow ups.

You may not need to enter anything in those screens.  It does depend, but if the income reported to you for NY was all earned in NY, you don't need to allocate, or split, any of the income between NY and another state.  This question has nothing to do with the income being reported as taxable in MA.  But if your NY employer sent you to work in Connecticut, for instance, the income you earned in Connecticut would still be reported on your W2.  When this happens, the NY income is allocated because not all that is reported in NY is taxable in NY.  In your case that's probably not the situation, and you should be able to delete any entries in those screens.  Comment if you need any assistance with this.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

6 Replies
DanielV01
Expert Alumni