turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

mfaga

If I am a resident of NY but go to college full time in NJ and work part time in NJ do I file taxes in just NJ because I did not work in NY?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
Carl
Level 15

If I am a resident of NY but go to college full time in NJ and work part time in NJ do I file taxes in just NJ because I did not work in NY?

No. You need to file both a NY and NJ return. As a resident of NY, you are required to report to the state all of your income, no matter where on the planet that income comes from. Basically, you'll be filing a NJ non-resident return and a NY resident return. It is *IMPORTANT* that you complete the non-resident state return first, and do the resident return last. That way, the program can correctly take into account any reciprocal tax agreements that may exist between all the states involved. In your case, there is such a tax agreement between NJ and NY. So it's vital you complete the NJ non-resident return first, and leave the NY resident return for last.
Also, do not file "ANY" return (including the federal) until after you have completed all returns and are satisfied with the result. For someone in your situation, if you make just one tiny mistake on any one return that later requires you to amend, then chances are high you will be amend all returns, since changes on any one of the returns will most likely affect all the other returns.
mfaga

I would need to delete the state returns and start the NJ return then the NY return?  Right now Turbotax is saying that I have NY tax due of $152 but did not have any NY income?
Carl
Level 15