turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

jlaker66
Returning Member

PA State form in TurboTax is showing a "capital gain/loss or Coverdale ESA distribution" that's not on my federal form

Hi, I've been using Turbo Tax Premier for well over 10 years, but I've never seen anything like this.

I completed the Federal section via Q&A method, now working on my state (PA).  TurboTax is showing a $188,000.00 "capital gain/loss or Coverdell ESA distribution".  Where is it getting this from?

We didn't sell any property in 2019, and we don't have a Coverdell (or any) student savings plan from which a distribution was taken.

We own a few rental properties, but they were bought in 2011, and still owned by us.  Other than that, we had some CDs mature, which we reinvested into new CDs, and I don't think those count as "capital" gains, and they certainly weren't in an education savings plan.

I don't seem to have the option to remove this, I can only hit a check box that says it's not taxable in my state, but I need it to go away entirely.

Help!  Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
jlaker66
Returning Member

PA State form in TurboTax is showing a "capital gain/loss or Coverdale ESA distribution" that's not on my federal form

I'll answer my own question, since I can't seem to find a way to delete (only edit) a question after posting.

This seems to be a byproduct of the way my bank handled the sale of a CD.  It posts as a capital sale, but for the exact same price I paid (therefore zero capital gain), and the interest is instead reported on another form.