turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

NY tax on my 1098-T?

This year I'm required to file a federal return because I erroneously made 2020 contributions to a Roth when I didn't have any earned income. Therefore, I requested Vanguard to remove my excess plus earnings in February 2021 and will not receive a 1099-R until next year.  Instead of waiting for the 2021 1099-R, I realized that I can file now by selecting that I am inputting a 2021 1099-R and following these instructions for excess Roth contributions. I'm required to file since I will face the 10% additional penalty on my earnings. I know my federal tax liability, but I am unsure of my NYS/NYC tax.

For background, I'm still a student and a dependent of my parents. I have minimal 1099-INT ($40), minimal 1099-DIV ($20), and a loss in 1099-B (-$15). I know my 2021 1099-R will $275 in earnings for 2020. Other than that, I don't have any other income. Now, I received a 1098-T because I am a student, but my Box 5 Scholarships and Grants ($16k) exceeds my Box 1 Qualified Expenses ($10k). Inputted this in TurboTax and now TurboTax is showing this $6k on my Form 1040 Line 1 for Wages so now my AGI is $6k. My federal tax is $28 as I predicted (10% of $275 Roth earnings = $28), but now my NY tax is around $200!! Is this correct? 

I've never filed before and my parents have always brought my 1098-T to their tax preparer. The tax preparer never reported anything for my 1098-T (all had Scholarships exceeding Qualified Expenses by around $5-6k). Why is it showing that I need to pay state taxes when I've never had to report anything before? Am I doing something wrong?

Any insight or help is greatly appreciated!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?