turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

NJ-COJ - Tax Credit Paid to other Jurisdiction

I am not sure if I have been filing the NJ-COJ form correctly for the past several years. My wife and I are both NJ Residents. I work in NY and she works in NJ. I make 100K, she makes 50K. Ignoring all deductibles and so on, my understanding is that NY will tax based on 150K and so will NJ. When I fill out my NJ-COJ form, is Line 1 suppose to be 100K and Line 2 to 150k? If so, it would seem like I am only getting about 66% back from the tax amount that I paid to NY. 

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

@Deetee wrote:

When I fill out my NJ-COJ form, is Line 1 suppose to be 100K and Line 2 to 150k? If so, it would seem like I am only getting about 66% back from the tax amount that I paid to NY. 

Yes, that's correct. The Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions on your New Jersey tax return is about 66% of your New York tax. As it says in the paragraph that I quoted above from New Jersey Publication GIT-3W, "The credit represents the amount of New Jersey Income Tax that you would have paid had the income been earned in New Jersey, or the amount of tax actually paid to the other jurisdiction, whichever is less." New York tax rates are higher than New Jersey rates, so the credit is only the amount of New Jersey tax on your New York income. The effect is that you pay the full New York tax. The credit eliminates any New Jersey tax on your New York income, but it does not reduce or cancel out your New York tax. You still pay the full New York tax.

@Deetee wrote: