Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Moved States mid-year 2020

Hello,

I have a lot of moving parts here so please bear with me:

My husband and I moved from California to Arizona mid-year (our AZ least started August 1st).  Neither of us have worked in Arizona at this point.  We both continued to receive unemployment benefits from California.  I also continued to teach remotely on occasion which I was paid for with  1099-NEC (Most, but not all, of the income on that was earned while living in CA).  I am also a professional actress so I receive multiple W-2's for residuals for TV work that I did prior to 2020 (none of these W-2's are for jobs worked in 2020).

Also, my husband cashed out his 401K this past December while we were living in AZ.  His employer was offering an option to withdraw early with no penalty due to Covid, and we had the taxes withdrawn when we cashed it out.  When entering my info for CA on TurboTax (haven't done AZ yet, and haven't e-filed), it asked us if we were living in AZ when receiving the 401K cashout, to which I answered yes, but then when checking for errors it needed me to fill in the full amount in Box 11E of 1099-R.

Advice?  I haven't even started filling in AZ yet.  Should I file the federal and both states at the same time, or do I need to file one state first? 

I've always had complicated taxes due to being an artist and teacher, and have always done my own with TurboTax, but this year is making my head spin!

Thank you for your help,

Lisa

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15