turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

panda742

How can I properly attribute business income to two states (full-time resident in one state).

I'm a full-time Maryland resident, using Turbotax Home & Business.  My business is simply a DBA.  I have income from Maryland, but also received a 1099-MISC completing payment for an invoice issued when I lived and worked in Massachusetts.  How do I properly divide this for state tax purposes?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
AmandaR1

How can I properly attribute business income to two states (full-time resident in one state).

If you're a full time resident of one state, that means you didn't live in another state, but I see that you said you lived and worked in MA, as well. I'll explain the two situations.

If your primary resident is Maryland (you lived there all year), but you have business income that was earned in another state (MA), then you'll file two returns. First, a nonresident return for MA reporting only the income earned in that state. Second, a resident return for Maryland, which will claim all of your income, including the income earned in MA (because your resident state lays claim to all). 

However, your resident state will give you credit for taxes paid to another state so that you're essentially not double taxed. For the software to calculate this, you'll need to update the non-resident state first and the resident state last.