turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am filing jointly for the first time. I am a resident of NJ state. My spouse is a resident of NY state. We both work in NYC. Can we file jointly with different address?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

I am filing jointly for the first time. I am a resident of NJ state. My spouse is a resident of NY state. We both work in NYC. Can we file jointly with different address?

Generally, if you and your spouse are filing a joint federal return but you work in or are residents of different statesyou need to file separate state returns. Sometimes this is required by state tax law; other times it is to your best interest to not include your non-resident spouse's income on your state return.

If you file jointly, you cannot list the two different addresses on your federal return but this is not a critical issue for your federal return. Just pick the address you wish to be printed on your joint federal return. This is a critical issue in your state returns and these would need to be filed separately. Please refer to this Turbo Tax link for more details.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Hi DaveF1006,