turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I'm concerned my Maryland state return is incorrect. Should I be entering Pennsylvania income, which I've already reported, as non-Maryland income?

I was a part-year resident, moving from PA to MD in 2016. I have already reported income earned in both states on my federal return, which was migrated to my Pennsylvania return but it is not clear that it was also migrated to my MD return. When asked to enter non-Maryland income, I'm inclined to enter the amount I earned while living in PA. However, this makes a substantial difference and takes me from owing to actually receiving a refund. Please help clarify this situation.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
TerryA
Intuit Alumni

I'm concerned my Maryland state return is incorrect. Should I be entering Pennsylvania income, which I've already reported, as non-Maryland income?

What you did in your MD return - entering the income you earned while living in PA as non-Maryland income - is exactly right. MD doesn't get to tax your income until you moved there but the part-year MD return starts off with federal adjusted gross income so you have subtract out the portion of the total income that MD doesn't get to tax.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
TerryA
Intuit Alumni

What you did in your MD return - entering the income you earned while living in PA as non-Maryland income - is exactly right. MD doesn't get to tax your income until you moved there but the part-year MD return starts off with federal adjusted gross income so you have subtract out the portion of the total income that MD doesn't get to tax.