turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kmoss80

I'm a teacher and filing jointly this year. It looks like we're losing $2,000 and we owe several hundred. I have a retirement account for teachers & don't pay soc. secur.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

I'm a teacher and filing jointly this year. It looks like we're losing $2,000 and we owe several hundred. I have a retirement account for teachers & don't pay soc. secur.

What is your question?  The IRS reduced the withholding tables for 2018 so you didn't have as much withholding deducted from your paychecks so you got more back in you checks during the year.  So you might end up owing or getting a smaller refund.  Where are you losing $2,000?  

kmoss80

I ran out of characters. How do I notate that I spent 2,000 dollars on the retirement account (which benefits every teacher enrolled in it in the state) instead of in social security? My husband looked to see how much he would get back if he filed alone and the number was 2,000 dollars higher than if we filed jointly. I think it's because of the retirement/social security problem. I think I have been overpaying for years if that is correct.

Filing separate returns is very unlikely to be more favorable to you.  Many teachers do not pay into Social Security--your W-2 should show the retirement contribution you made instead of paying in to SS. You do not enter that anywhere else--it  is just entered when you put in the information from your W-2. 

Your spouse probably did not enter the data correctly for MFS if he had such a big difference: