• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jean_phillip

I am a NY resident who is considering a lump sum cash out of a $12,000 Fidelity IRA. How much of that money should I plan on setting aside for taxes?

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
SteamTrain
Level 15

I am a NY resident who is considering a lump sum cash out of a $12,000 Fidelity IRA. How much of that money should I plan on setting aside for taxes?

That depends entirely on your age and what other income you have during 2017.

If you are under age 59.5, the IRA may be required to withhold 30% (3600) as 20% + 10% penalty, when they send it to you.  BUT...that doesn't mean that's all you will owe for it.

THe entire 12,000 will be added to your other income at tax time, and the $$ withheld will be entered as a credit against what you might owe on ALL your income.  If they withheld too much, then you'll get some of it as a refund....if your other income puts you in a tax bracket that is higher, then you'll owe some more.

If they give you the choice to withhold or not, then guestimate the highest tax % you will be subject to for 2017, and have them withhold that.  25% is a good seat-of-the-pants amount if you are over 59.5...add another 10% if you are younger.

For state taxes , you'll need to guestimate what NY tax bracket you will be in when you file for 2017 taxes, and ask Fidelity to withhold that % for NY.

____________*Answers are correct to the best of my knowledge when posted, but should not be considered to be legal or official tax advice.*

View solution in original post

2 Replies
SteamTrain
Level 15

That depends entirely on your age and what other income you have during 2017.

If you are under age 59.5, the IRA may be required to withhold 30% (3600) as 20% + 10% penalty, when they send it to you.  BUT...that doesn't mean that's all you will owe for it.