Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

As a consultant, I am not currently covered by retirement plan at work. I want to contribute to a traditional IRA and deduct it, but Turbo Tax will not allow it. How?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

0 Best answers
8 Replies

As a consultant, I am not currently covered by retirement plan at work. I want to contribute to a traditional IRA and deduct it, but Turbo Tax will not allow it. How?

OK, So we can but how do we deduct the IRA?
IreneS
Intuit Alumni

I've added steps to enter the contributions to my original answer.  Follow the instructions to enter your contribution and TurboTax will handle the rest.
**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

I did the steps and have $11,500 as an IRA, but TurboTax still only gives me a $0 in the "Your IRA Deduction" screen.  It says "Because of your income, you're not eligible to take any additional deduction this year."   

Is the rule "no one who has a MAGI over $119,000 can deduct an IRA contribution", or "No one with a MAGI over $119,000 while being covered by a retirement plan at work can deduct an IRA".  Neither my wife or I have retirement plans at work as we are now both consultants.
IreneS
Intuit Alumni

UPDATED FOR TAX YEAR 2019

It's the second--$119,000 if you are covered by a retirement plan.
Since you do not have a retirement plan "at work" you should be able to take the full deduction of $11,500, as long as one of you is over 50. Annual contribution limits per person are $6,000 ($7,000 if you are over 50).