turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Tax Year Prior to 2020: My address on my w2 is [PII removed] which is a military base.. Do I use my home address to file

I am a soldier in tx but my legal state of residence is VA.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DMarkM1
Employee Tax Expert

Tax Year Prior to 2020: My address on my w2 is [PII removed] which is a military base.. Do I use my home address to file

In both the "My Info" section for your mailing address and in the W2 entries there is a box for "Address Type" that has  drop down menu.  There you can select the different types that pertain to you.  You want your mailing address to be where you want to get mail concerning this return.  

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

12 Replies

For your tax return Personal Information, you will enter your permanent mailing address.  However, your W-2 should be entered exactly as it is in the Wages & Income area.

sccas
Employee Tax Expert

seems like TT doesn't clear the error if you enter a military address

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumbs up icon in a post
AmyC
Expert Alumni

The address where you can get mail from the IRS goes on your return. The address on your W2, goes in the W2 section.

Blessd

I have this same question. My military address on my W2 is similar. However, TT is requiring me to enter a zip code and state, although there’s not one on my W2. How do I proceed? 

DMarkM1
Employee Tax Expert