turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Garyd1
Returning Member

Sale of rental property

I sold a rental property in 2019. I have been using turbotax for many years while I owned this rental property, but somehow I neglected to enter in the cost basis of the property.  I know what my cost basis was at the time of purchase but I do not know how to enter it in to turbotax now so that it can make the correct calculations . Can I just enter in the cost basis when I enter in the sale of the property into turbotax 2019?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

13 Replies
Carl
Level 15

Sale of rental property

If you've used TurboTax to report your rental income/expenses in past years and have done so correctly, the program already has your cost basis. Simply follow the guidance below to report the sale.

Reporting the Sale of Rental Property

If you qualify for the "lived in 2 of last 5 years" capital gains exclusion, then when prompted you WILL indicate that this sale DOES INCLUDE the sale of your main home. For AD MIL personnel who don't qualify because of PCS orders, select this option anyway, because you "MIGHT" qualify for at last a partial exclusion.