turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

foreignnational1
Returning Member

Rental depriciation

Hi,

I am a foreign national beginning work after my studies in the US. Before I came to the US, my dad inherited a property in 2005 which he then rebuilt into apartments and transferred one of the apartments in my name in 2016 (I came to the US in 2017 as a student). I earn rental income and since I was a non resident for tax purposes I was not required to report it to the IRS. However, beginning next year I will become a resident alien for tax purposes. First, I want to know how can I report my rental income (it does not exceed $10,000 per year)?

Second, can I calculate the depreciation of the property to offset the taxes owed on rental income? How do I calculate the value since it was not something that we bought with money (neither me nor my dad)? When do I start calculating depreciation on my apartment (when I start reporting it in 2021 or when I first got it in 2016)?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
Carl
Level 15

Rental depriciation

my dad inherited a property in 2005

Is this property in the U.S.? This matters big time for "all" tax reporting for "all" years you owned it.

Is your dad a U.S. citizen or legal alien in the U.S. with an ITIN or SSN?

Your cost basis on the property is your dad's cost basis. That would be the fair market value of the property on the day the person your dad inherited it from passed away. (not the day it was titled to your dad.) When your dad gifted you the property, you were gifted more than just the property itself.