turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Joevu
Returning Member

Premier and Form 3115

I failed to take depreciation for 8 years.  If I can fill out the form 3115, will TT Premier guide me to finish up the change in depreciation?

Thanks,

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

10 Replies

Premier and Form 3115

NO ... this form is NOT in the TT program AND you should NOT try to complete it yourself ... seek local professional assistance for this year's return to get this error fixed correctly.  

Joevu
Returning Member

Premier and Form 3115

I have been using TT for 15+ yrs and very comfortable with it.  Let's say I go to a CPA for this tax year 2019. I can go back using TT after that?  It should be the same number for the depreciation.

Premier and Form 3115

Of course you can return ... for just 2019 you need professional help since there are some unusual situations the DIY program is just not set up to handle.  And for the asset you will need to enter it in the program from the 2019 depreciation worksheet ...make SURE to get ALL the worksheets from the CPA (unethical ones  have a tendency to keep the "work product" to themselves to get you to come back).  

Carl
Level 15

Premier and Form 3115

Let's say I go to a CPA for this tax year 2019. I can go back using TT after that?

Sure you can. But make *ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN* that you get a printout of the "complete" tax return *AND* all worksheets and calculation forms from the CPA. *you* *WILL* *need* *them*. I guarantee it.

It should be the same number for the depreciation.