turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

ue1
Level 3

QBI or Enterprise for rental properties

In 2020 I used the QBI for multiple rental properties I own (schedule E).

For this year (2021 taxes), I opted to include all my rentals in an enterprise, but apparently it is not allowed in combination with the QBI, so I have to select one or the other.

I am not a RE professional but do spend a lot of time managing these properties, and my objective is to be able to deduct rental properties' operating losses from my W-2 income. However, no matter what I choose - QBI or Enterprise, Turbo Tax does not allow me to combine the two and regardless of my choice, I do not get a deduction of operating losses (they become suspended, I believe).

Q: What do I need to do in order to be able to deduct those operating losses?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
KrisD15
Employee Tax Expert

You would need to file a Schedule C OR  Actively Participate in the rentals. 

Linked Answer

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
ue1
Level 3

Thank you @KrisD15 .

I am using schedule E at this time, but do not get the available deduction of up to $25,000 of losses.

I do actively participate in the rentals, based on the IRS definition, but TurboTax does not let me benefit from it.

Any idea why?

To be sure, how can I verify these losses are not deducted from other income sources I have?

KrisD15
Employee Tax Expert

The loss would be reported on Schedule 1 Line 5.