turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I have been working for a company for 18 years all payment's have been in cash and my bills are paid by company checks rent, SCE , co has never given me any tax forms

The company is now closing and I have no income also my car is in the company's name and all insurance and all supplies to complete jobs are furnished by company

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I have been working for a company for 18 years all payment's have been in cash and my bills are paid by company checks rent, SCE , co has never given me any tax forms

You need to see an attorney.  If what you seem to be saying is what really happened, you likely owe tens of thousands of dollars, if not hundreds of thousands, in taxes, interest and late fees.  You also have not been building up social security credits that would qualify you for disability or retirement benefits.  Your employer has some responsibility for not following the laws but so do you.

A good attorney can figure out what you owe and help negotiate a settlement with the IRS that might reduce what you owe, and also might be able to pursue the owner of the business, even if it is closed.  Don't go with the companies that advertise on radio and late night TV, find a local reputable tax attorney.

And then find a new job and start earning money and paying taxes.

View solution in original post

7 Replies

Have you not filed any tax returns in those years?
**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**