Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the Refund! >> Event happening NOW!!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Do I need to file state tax return in Tennessee? I have been a resident all of 2014 w/o interests from bonds, notes, or dividends from stock exceeding $1,250.

I am a resident in TN.  All income in 2014 came from TN.  Do I need to file a 2014 state tax return?  I see in a Turbo Tax forum that TN only collects tax on interest income from bonds, notes, and dividends from stock exceeding $1,250.  I do not meet any of these requirements.  I do not want to pay $19.99 to e-file state taxes if I do not need too.  I have already filed my federal refund.  Please help me determine if I need to file a state tax return or simply file my federal tax (which I did) then I am done with all of my 2014 taxes.  Thank you in advance for your help.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
EvieT

Do I need to file state tax return in Tennessee? I have been a resident all of 2014 w/o interests from bonds, notes, or dividends from stock exceeding $1,250.

You are correct, Tennessee, taxes only dividend and interest income. If you do not have this type of income you are not required to file a state return.

I need to know how to continue with my federal return and e file
Deshia

If you have reported and unreported income that exceeds the IRS filing threshold in the table under Federal Filing Requirements below, you will need to file a tax return with the IRS. Determine if you need to file by adding up all income you receive from all sources, such as income on a W-2 or Form 1099s and from side jobs or freelancing.