Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a Virginia resident with a rental property in Maryland. Why is turbotax requiring me to file a MD nonresident return? My CPA has never done this.

The following comes from tax.virginia.gov, regarding states that have reciprocity with VA: If you only earned wages or salaries that were exempt from the other state’s tax, you won’t have to file an income tax return or pay income tax to that state.
I believe the wages would be exempt if there were any (we actually had a small loss this year though), because I'm paying the taxes in VA (my resident state)?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

I am a Virginia resident with a rental property in Maryland. Why is turbotax requiring me to file a MD nonresident return? My CPA has never done this.

It depends.  You are correct that VA and MD are reciprocal states, and that wages are not taxed in the nonresident state.  However, rental income is not considered as wages, but rather as passive income.  Maryland does require a nonresident return on rental income, even for a Virginia resident, as this MD website shows:  http://taxes.marylandtaxes.com/Individual_Taxes/Individual_Tax_Types/Income_Tax/Filing_Information/D...

Having said this, you are stating that you reported a loss on your MD rental.  Thus, you do not have income to report to MD (although you may choose to file so that the rental is still reported).