turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Hi, I am a F-1 student, started from last JULY I start to trade stock, the stock value have gone up and I haven't cash out yet ,do I need to pay tax ? what if cash out?

I am graduated 2020 DEC and I am planning to go back to China, would I still be able to trade US stocks ? thanks
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Hi, I am a F-1 student, started from last JULY I start to trade stock, the stock value have gone up and I haven't cash out yet ,do I need to pay tax ? what if cash out?

You don't have to pay taxes on your stock operations until you cash it out, then you'll have pay taxes on the gain on sale, if any. 

As for the second questions, you will probably able to continue doing that, however you need to contact your broker firm and ask them about your particular situation. 

View solution in original post

I meant when you sell your stock, it is taxable event and it will result gain or loss on the  sale. 

View solution in original post

7 Replies

You don't have to pay taxes on your stock operations until you cash it out, then you'll have pay taxes on the gain on sale, if any. 

As for the second questions, you will probably able to continue doing that, however you need to contact your broker firm and ask them about your particular situation. 

Thank you so much for your fast reply. Just want to clearly by cash out you mean take out the money from my trading account or just simply  sold a stock (the found is still in trading account)

I meant when you sell your stock, it is taxable event and it will result gain or loss on the  sale.