turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

g12196
Returning Member

Can 179 losses offset my capital gains on non related stock gains

I am a new business owner as of 2019, and have invested $150,000 in equipment, vans, machines etc. and will show a sizable loss this year. 
Unrelated to this business I would like to sell some of my stock holdings but will have $200,000 in capital gains, can I use my business losses by utilizing the accelerated 179 deductions for that equipment?

Essentially reducing my stock capital gain income to $50,000 as I carry over the $150,000 loss to my 1040?

Also does it matter what month in 2019 the equipment was purchased.

Thank you

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

@g12196 wrote:

Essentially reducing my stock capital gain income to $50,000 as I carry over the $150,000 loss to my 1040?

Section 179(b)(3)(A) provides that a taxpayer’s Section 179 deduction for any taxable year, after application of the Section 179(b)(1) and (2) limitations, is limited to the taxpayer’s taxable income for that taxable year that is derived from the taxpayer’s active conduct of any trade or business during that taxable year.

See https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/rp-19-08.pdf

g12196
Returning Member

So I read your Answer as a “no” I cannot offset capital gains on stock as it’s not an active conduct of trade or business.

However since I retired at 55 (3 years ago) my sole income is buying and selling stock, the business I bought for for my wife in August.  Could it then be interpreted to mean my active trade or business has been profiting off of stock sales?