Skip to main content
Level 1
June 1, 2019
Solved

I clicked on turbotax self employed just to check it out, and I don't really need the service. I'm getting billed for it when I get to the "FILE" page, how do I get rid

  • June 1, 2019
  • 1 reply
  • 28 views
of it?
Best answer by michellehomebiz

Yes, you can switch programs if you haven't paid yet.

You can downgrade using the Clear and Start Over feature but bear in mind that the different TurboTax programs handle different tax situations and their associated forms.

For example, if you got upgraded to Deluxe because you're itemizing (Schedule A), you can clear and start over in Free Edition, but as soon as you've entered sufficient itemized deductions to exceed your standard deduction, you'll be asked to upgrade to Deluxe again.

Here is a short list of some common tax situations and the online products that now uniquely support them:

Keep in mind that TurboTax Free Edition is intended for taxpayers with simple returns (1040EZ or 1040A with the standard deduction), e.g. first-time filers and students.

1 reply

Level 8
June 1, 2019

Yes, you can switch programs if you haven't paid yet.

You can downgrade using the Clear and Start Over feature but bear in mind that the different TurboTax programs handle different tax situations and their associated forms.

For example, if you got upgraded to Deluxe because you're itemizing (Schedule A), you can clear and start over in Free Edition, but as soon as you've entered sufficient itemized deductions to exceed your standard deduction, you'll be asked to upgrade to Deluxe again.

Here is a short list of some common tax situations and the online products that now uniquely support them:

Keep in mind that TurboTax Free Edition is intended for taxpayers with simple returns (1040EZ or 1040A with the standard deduction), e.g. first-time filers and students.