Skip to main content
Level 1
June 4, 2019
Solved

Can you do your personal taxes on turbo tax self employed? Self Employed keeps trying to charge me $119 to do my personal taxes. How can I change it to personal taxes

  • June 4, 2019
  • 1 reply
  • 15 views
No text available
Best answer by PopeyeTheSalior

Yes, you can do your personal taxes on the Self-employed online edition.  However, if you are not self-employed with any business income and expenses, you do not need the Self-Employed edition.  Instead, you can downgrade to other editions with a lower price.  By doing so, nevertheless, it would erase the current entries if there are any ( hope you have not done many entries yet), but keep the previous information from last year including the income categories, different schedules you have filed.  Continue to follow the prompts and program will assist you to select the appropriate version for your new tax return.  

To downgrade from self-employed version, you can simply use the "clear and start over" feature in the program: 

  • Sign in to your account, select Pick up where you left off
  • To your left, select Tools, click on the drop-down menu
  • Select Clear and Start Over
  • Follow the prompts to select the right version

 

1 reply

PopeyeTheSalior
Level 13
June 4, 2019

Yes, you can do your personal taxes on the Self-employed online edition.  However, if you are not self-employed with any business income and expenses, you do not need the Self-Employed edition.  Instead, you can downgrade to other editions with a lower price.  By doing so, nevertheless, it would erase the current entries if there are any ( hope you have not done many entries yet), but keep the previous information from last year including the income categories, different schedules you have filed.  Continue to follow the prompts and program will assist you to select the appropriate version for your new tax return.  

To downgrade from self-employed version, you can simply use the "clear and start over" feature in the program: 

  • Sign in to your account, select Pick up where you left off
  • To your left, select Tools, click on the drop-down menu
  • Select Clear and Start Over
  • Follow the prompts to select the right version