jgldstz
Returning Member

IRS and California state self-employer taxes

Hi,

In addition to my regular salaried income from my primary employer, I earned additional income in 2022 as a consultant / contractor. These payments were received in Q2 and Q3 from a foreign entity, the Asian Development Bank, based in the Philippines. As such, I will definitely NOT receive any 1099s nor income forms. I'm a California resident. How do I estimate the amount I owe the IRS and the state of California? Should I use Schedule C or Schedule SE for the IRS? Do I have to submit/file those forms now, later, never, or can I just make payments? Can I make all payments at once (for both quarters) or am I required to wait until next quarter to pay taxes on Q3 earnings? Do I really have to pay 15.3% to the IRS and another 15.3% to the state (equaling 30.6% total)?

Thank you for your answers!

Self employed

Since you have various questions, I will tackle one at a time. Let's start with estimating taxes to the IRS.  

Individuals, including sole proprietors, partners, and S corporation shareholders, generally have to make estimated tax payments if they expect to owe tax of $1,000 or more when the return is filed.

Since you also have W2 income, you may want to consider adjusting your paycheck withholdings by using a W-4 form (this form is completed by you and provided to your employer to make changes to your federal withholdings on your paychecks). The changes on your paystubs could then cover the tax from the consulting income, eliminating the need to make separate estimated payments. Basically, you would be paying the "estimated payments" thru your paychecks instead of making separate estimate payments.