kl3618

Foreign Property Tax

Does anyone know the Canadian/US tax implications on owning a house in Canada and living in the US (as a non-resident of Canada)?

I am currently a permanent resident in the US and am registered as a non-resident in Canada. My parents are in Vancouver, and I am planning on buying them a house there. The mortgage will be under my name and the registered owner of the house will probably also be under my name as well.

Here are a few questions I have:

1) Will I need to report the property in Canada on my US tax forms? What if it's a joint ownership with my parents? (I know that I will probably need to file an FICEN if I have $10k in funds at any point in my Canadian account)
2) Will I be able to get deductions on my US tax forms for the mortgage I paid on the property in Canada?
3) Will I need to file Canadian tax as well for owning the property? (I'm not sure if that will affect my non-resident status even if my parents are the ones living there)
4) If my parents decide to sublet the house, and if they were to collect and keep the rent, will I need to report the rent collected on my US tax forms as well? (I understand that they will need to file the rent they collect on their Canadian tax forms)

Thanks in advance!

pk
Level 15
Level 15

Investors & landlords

@kl3618  noting that you are a resident of the USA ( Green Card ),    (a) what country are you a citizen of; (b) your parents ; (c) what do you mean by being registered as non-resident of Canada -- if you do not live there  or earn there, then  being non-resident has no meaning -- what am I missing here ?

1. There is no requirement to report ownership / purchase of an asset / home in Canada for US tax purposes .  However, if you want to use the mortgage deduction ( when itemizing ),  the loan must be in your name, you must be liable for it and you must have been paying the mortgage.  Ditto for property tax deduction.