I have a rental property that I have been deprecating for four years. This year I sold the property for a loss. How do I account for this?

I have previously used a tax firm to do my taxes.  They calculated the basis of the property at $96K and the land at $10K.  Previous depreciation is 10,700 brining the revised basis down to $84K.  I sold the property in July for $77K. 

How do I calculate the loss? 

Can I count closing costs in the amount? 

And do I need to calculate depreciation on the portion of the year that the property was rented?

Does this loss offset my income; or only offset capital gains?

IreneS
Intuit Alumni

Investors & landlords

You can report the sale of the rental property in the rental property section -- TurboTax will walk you through the steps.

• How do I calculate the loss?  TurboTax will ask you for information and calculate the loss for you.
  • Closing costs are added to the basis of the property
  • And do I need to calculate depreciation on the portion of the year that the property was rented?  Again, TurboTax will take care of this for you.
  • Does this loss offset my income; or only offset capital gains?  This is a capital loss, which is first applied against any capital gains in the return.  After that, you are allow to take $3,000 of the loss per year.  The rest is carried forward.

Rental properties are reported on Schedule E - Supplemental Income.  You will have to apportion the total sales price among the house and any assets that may have been entered separately (for example new roof, appliances, improvements).

To do this in TurboTax Premier (Windows), please follow these steps:

1. Click on Federal Taxes > Continue > I'll choose what I work on.
  2. On the screen, Your 20XX Income Summary, in the Rental Properties and Royalties section, click the Start/Update box.  
  3. On the Income from Rentals or Royalty Property You Own  screen, click Yes.