Am I responsible for issuing a 1099 for the fees I paid to the Property Manager of my rental property, if they sent me a 1099-MISC with the gross rental income reported?

During 2014 I moved out of my house and got it ready to become a rental property.  I hired a Property Management Firm, and my first tenants moved in during January 2015.  I recently received a 1099-MISC from the PM Firm which includes one amount, the gross rental income.

My first question is do I have to issue them a 1099 for the management fees I paid to them each month?  The fees were deducted by them before sending me the net amount each month.

My second question is since they (PM Firm) receive and pay on my behalf the rental tax, should I include them anywhere on my return?  I don't think so, just checking.

This is my first time dealing with rental income, any assistance is appreciated.  Thank you!

MargaretL
Expert Alumni

Investors & landlords

You are not required to issue Form 1099-MISC to the Property Management Firm for their fees.

You can also deduct any rental expenses that you paid.  The fact that the Management Company paid the real estate tax on your behalf is still considered paid by you. The same applies to any other expenses that you paid, or that were paid by management company on your behalf - they are deductible on your tax return as your rental expenses.

When going through Turbo Tax, you will be enter to enter any rental expenses, such us mortgage interest, real estate taxes, insurance (homeowners), management fees, etc.  If there is an expense that is not listed, you'll be able to enter the description and an amount of your expense.

Please refer to the below link for more details on rental income and expenses:

https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/1894483-where-do-i-enter-income-and-expenses-from-a-rental-propert...

View solution in original post

Investors & landlords

Oh good, thank you.