rfox802

I've been attending a community college since 2013 and only just graduated with an associates degree last year. Do I still qualify for the American Opportunity Credit?

I know people have asked this question before but I just wanted more clarity to be sure. I just finished my first associates degree last year and I'm now pursing my bachelors degree. I've been attending school since 2013 part time and I've taken the American Opportunity tax credit 3 times now. From what I have seen it seems like I'll still be eligible for the American Opportunity Credit one more time since I haven't completed a 4 year degree (or 2 associates, etc). Is this correct?

DanielV01
Expert Alumni

Education

It depends.  You are correct that the American Opportunity Credit may be claimed a maximum of 4 times.  Whether or not you qualify will likely depend on if you are considered a full-time student for tax purposes.  The definition for a full-time student is that you were at least a half-time student for at least 5 months.  (If you were a half-time student, the "half-time student" box will be checked).  There are other requirements as well, as shown in this FAQ:  https://ttlc.intuit.com/replies/5358150

But, if you have yet to have claimed 4 years for the credit, and meet the remaining requirements in the FAQ above, you would be eligible to claim the credit.  However, if you don't qualify for the American Opportunity Credit, you may still qualify for the Lifetime Learning Credit.  Here is an FAQ with more information on this subject as well:  https://ttlc.intuit.com/replies/5358151

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
rfox802

Education