vioalas

I purchased an instrument in 2013 for $16,000 that I currently for work. Is this an expense I can deduct? Where should I start?

Deductions & credits

Are you a W-2 employee, or treated as an independent contractor, or both?
vioalas

Deductions & credits

Both, I believe. W-2 because I teach orchestra in a public school. And I believe I'm an independent contractor because I receive several 1099s from the orchestras I play in.

Deductions & credits

You have to start with your 2013 tax return. Unfortunately, it is too late to amend your 2013 tax return to get a tax benefit, since it is more than 3 years from the filing deadline.  But, you can still get some benefit.

Equipment used in your business is an "asset" (tools for a mechanic, printing presses for a newspaper, instruments for a musician).  Assets must be depreciated over their "useful life."  Normally, this means taking the wear and tear into account, most assets lose value over time.  Machinery wears out, computers become outdated, etc.

The class life for musical instruments is defined as 7 years.  That means, roughly speaking you can depreciate, or deduct 1/7 of the value every year over 7 years as a business expense.

There are certain procedures that allow you to take more depreciation -- that is, depreciate the item 50% or even 100% in the first year.  If you stop using the item for business before the end of the class life, you have to pay back the excess depreciation.  (For example, computers have a class life of 5 years.  If you are a graphic artist and buy a new computer and depreciate it all at once, then change careers after 2 years, you have to repay 3 years worth of depreciation.)  However, these procedures only apply in the first year, you would have to take them on your 2013 return, and it is too late to amend your 2013 return for a refund.