I am a CA resident and will be starting a new Job for a company based out of MA, as a remote worker. The company is registered in Delaware. Will I be double taxed?

Since there are 3 states involved, I am not quite sure how the state taxes are going to work. 

Delaware = where the company is registered

Massachusetts = where they are headquartered 

California = where I will be working. 

Thanks for the help of the community!

State tax filing

Since you are living and working in California then your employer should only be withholding CA state income taxes from your wages, no other state withholding.  You will need to provide to the employer the CA state Form DE-4 for the state withholding - http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de4.pdf

See this answer on a related question here - https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/3384327-do-i-need-to-still-pay-mass-taxes-being-a-full-time-teleco...

View solution in original post

State tax filing

Some states have a “first day” rule, which means if you set foot in a state you don't live in and work there for one day, you owe that state income tax. Massachusetts is one of those.

State tax filing

Hello there, I have have the following situation and was hoping to get some guidance on your expertise. I live and work in California, the employer is based out of Utah so when I entered the W-2 information, the Utah state balance due was populated. I thought I get taxed depending on residency and work state only.

Thank you,

Ricardo

TomD8
Level 15

State tax filing

@Rick23slash  --  If you never physically worked in Utah, your work income is not taxable by Utah.  However, if your employer mistakenly withheld UT taxes, you'd have to file a non-resident UT return, showing zero UT income, in order to obtain a refund of those taxes.

If your W-2 showed UT withholdings, those fields would populate in TT.

Your income is of course entirely taxable by your resident state of CA, regardless of where you earn it.