Employee Withholding California - 100% Remote Non-Resident

Hello!

I'm trying to figure out whether I should be exempt from California income tax withholding or not. I am a Florida resident and being hired as a temporary, 100% remote, never set foot in California, employee. I found this website that mentions that I should not pay income taxes in California but I'm not sure if the information is right. They mention that:

the "source rule" means that the income is taxable if its coming from California regardless of the taxpayer's residency. But that with respect to employees, the source of income from services compensated by W-2 wages is the location where the services are performed, not the location of employer. This is true even if you are a nonresident, even if the employment agreement with the employer is made out-of-state, and even if the wages are paid to you outside of California.

But what if the employee is a nonresident who never sets foot in California to perform his services? Then the source rule works in the nonresident’s favor, even if the employer is California based. Remember, the income sourcing is determined by the location where the employee services are actually performed, not the location of the employer. A nonresident programmer who monitors and upgrades satellite dish software for a Los Angeles-based media company, all while sitting comfortably in front of his computer in his Austin, Texas condo, doesn’t earn California-source income and doesn’t have to pay California income taxes, as long as the work is performed outside of California.

Later on they mention:

At the employer end, while California companies have to withhold state payroll taxes for resident employees wherever they perform their services, and for nonresident employees for services in-state, this is not the case for nonresident employees who perform services outside of California.