Yume
Level 3

If I'm filing a multiple state return why does my 1099-Int income show up on State Z's income area, but not State X where I'm a resident and my bank is located?

I've seen that State Z lists State X as a state that it has a reciprocity agreement with, but State X doesn't list State Z as such.

ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

Get your taxes done using TurboTax

We'd love to help you complete your tax return, but need more information. Every state handles income differently. We can't answer your question without knowing what states you are referring to.

Reciprocity agreements are both ways. They do not cover interest, only wages.

For a listing of agreements see: Which states have reciprocal agreements?

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Yume
Level 3

Hi @ErnieS0, states involved are AZ and CA.  Financial institution with the account earing interest is in CA.  I adjusted the personal info in the Federal return and to more accurately describe our scenario and now it shows up in both.  Of course now I'm wondering whether I should be reporting the full amount for both our accounts (one only earns interest on money earned by me and the other only by my spouse—one of us solely has AZ income and the other solely CA income, but both CA and AZ are community property states) to both states or something else as you stated that reciprocity doesn't cover interest on savings accounts?

DanielV01
Expert Alumni