fadybekh

Turbotax mentioned that I have filed my tax, Although I did not send it by mail yet

Hello , 

My Wife e-filed tax return as Married Joint Electronically through turbo-tax , and she received an email that the return is successfully received by IRS.

Since I am not experienced in the tool , Previously I  started to file my tax (by mail) also through turbo-tax as well , but I did not neither sign nor print the return and  send it.

Is there anyway to cancel the return COMPLETELY to avoid double data at the IRS.

Another question, When I entered the stimulus portal to check if I am eligible for the stimulus, I have also found turbotax has sent my data to the IRS and waiting for the stimulus eligibility results , how that can be done although I did not complete filing my return (Did not even sign).

Get your taxes done using TurboTax

If your spouse prepared a correct joint return will all of the income for both of you on it, then the two of you are done.   Do NOT mail the return you worked on.  As long as you did not mail it, it is like it does not exist to the IRS.  And since she e-filed already using your SSN, you cannot e-file it --it would be rejected.  When you file a joint return, there is only ONE return that has all the information on it for both spouses.  Make sure she included your income on the return she filed.

If you want to clear your own:

CLEAR AND START OVER

https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/2586254-how-do-i-clear-and-start-over

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

Hello Dear, 

Thanks for Your Reply , But I can not find the clear and start over as you have mentioned.

The problem is , I have already processed the return and now it is pending on "Fedral Retrun Ready for Mail" So I am unable to make changes except through amendment which is through mail .. I think .