My non-citizen husband and I lived abroad part of the year. How do we deal with state residency?

I'm a US citizen. He's Canadian. We both lived and worked in California for many years. He quit his job in mid-2018, went to Canada, and came back to the US in Fall 2018 as a tourist. We gave up our apartment on Dec 31, 2018, and traveled around the US for several months. I quit my California-based job in February 2019, while we were already on the road (and not necessarily in California). We got married in the US at the end of March, and in early April moved to Berlin (Germany). We both worked in Berlin, and came back in early 2020 (he is now a tourist again). What does that do for our residency? Here's my guess - am I right?

- I think we're both US residents in 2019 for tax purposes, because we've been living in the US for the past several years.

- We don't get a foreign earned income exclusion, because we weren't gone long enough.

- I think I'm a California resident.

- I think we're supposed to go with married filing jointly.

- I don't know if my partner is a California resident, and if he isn't, what that means for us when we file. But I am guessing he is a California resident, even though he was only there as a tourist in 2019. Or that it's impossible to have us both be US residents but only one of us be a California resident, and so we just roll with it and treat him as a California resident. Or that it doesn't matter anyway because whatever we did outside of California is only subject to Federal taxes anyway and TurboTax will take care of that.

Anyway, if there's something special we have to do to address the fact that he wasn't really living in California last year (just traveling as a tourist), I'd appreciate if you could explain it to me!

KarenJ2
Expert Alumni

Get your taxes done using TurboTax

Kindly provide a few more details:

• Where are you living now that you are back in the US?