Anonymous
Not applicable

Received 1099 MISC working abroad as non resident alien, how to report it properly?

So my situation is a little bit tricky. I received a 1099-MISC working for an US company for 2 months (Jan - Feb 2019). I was work remotely in Asia as a foreign contractor. No visa or anything. After then I got my work visa (H1B) approved, moved to US to work for the same company and received a W-2.

According to my research, I was working as a non-resident independent contractor for this 1099MISC, which means I don't need to pay taxes for it. However, tax-wise I am a resident alien for the rest of the year so I need to pay taxes on my W2s for sure.

My question is, how can I report this 1099 MISC properly, and does turbo-tax support this? I don't want to pay taxes I don't own, but definitely don't want to piss IRS off by not reporting a 1099 I received.

pk
Level 15
Level 15

Get your taxes done using TurboTax

@Anonymous , generally as a non-resident alien ( whether you are present in USA or in your own country ), US taxes you ONLY on US sourced / connected income.   For US citizen/Resident/ Resident for tax purposes , one is taxed on world income.

As a resident in foreign country , taxation  of income from US would come under the purview of any existing tax treaty between US and that "other " country.

Thus , in your particular case  , while 1099-misc probably is not valid in your country, it is proof that you were paid a certain amount from  US sources and thus us subject to US taxes -- you should look at the  tax treaty between US and your country  of residence  and/or citizenship.

Absent, any other local income during that 1099-misc period, you could simplify the  whole process by filing a US tax resident return on form 1040 covering the whole year -- the risk here is that you would be exposing  your world income to US taxes.