Where in Turbotax as a self employed person in health field do I report my $14,000 USI Tech Ponzi Scheme loss?

Kat
Level 15
Level 15

Get your taxes done using TurboTax

Please see SuperUser @macuser_22's reply.  Thank you.

*** I am NOT a tax expert. I am a seasoned TurboTax user, and volunteer to provide assistance to TT users. Nothing I post is to be considered TAX ADVICE; I bear no legal liability for responses.***

@Kat wrote:

Please see SuperUser @maglib's response posted on June 1, 2019.  The original question/answer are linked below.

https://ttlc.intuit.com/community/investments-and-rental-properties/discussion/turbotax-does-not-sup...

@Kat- I believe that answer that has a 6/1/19 date is the date that the post was migrated to this new forum, not the original date if the post which could be 2-3 years old.

As of 2018 causality (theft) losses are no longer a tax deduction and cannot be reported anywhere.

**Disclaimer: This post is for discussion purposes only and is NOT tax advice. The author takes no responsibility for the accuracy of any information in this post.**
Kat
Level 15
Level 15

@macuser_22Thank you!  I'll delete this answer, and leave yours for the original poster. 

*** I am NOT a tax expert. I am a seasoned TurboTax user, and volunteer to provide assistance to TT users. Nothing I post is to be considered TAX ADVICE; I bear no legal liability for responses.***
maglib
Level 11

Got this from the business group (note semantics of investment losses vs. embezzlement)

(1) A loss from criminal fraud or embezzlement (ponzi tpye scheme) in a transaction entered into for profit is a theft loss, not a capital loss, under § 165.

(2) A theft loss in a transaction entered into for profit is deductible under § 165 (c) (2), not § 165 (c) (3), as an itemized deduction that is not subject to the personal loss limits in § 165 (h), or the limits on itemized deductions in §§ 67 and 68.