Where do I enter my 1099-misc information, under personal income or business income?

Where do I enter my 1099-misc information,  under personal income or business income?  I'm a real estate broker, self-employed.  Where do I put this income, in the personal income section or the business income section?  Or both?

TomD8
Level 15

Get your taxes done using TurboTax

If the income is in Box 7 of your 1099-MISC, in TT Home & Business (or TT Online Self-Employed) it can be entered under the Business tab, in the Business Income section under Business Income and Expenses.  Non-employee compensation (Box 7) is considered self-employment income, which is reported as business income.  TT will generate a business return (Schedule C), on which you can deduct your allowable business expenses.  To the IRS, if you have self-employment income, you're a self-employed "business."

If the income is not in Box 7, enter the 1099-MISC in the Other Common Income section of TT, on the line for 1099-MISC, and go through the follow-up questions.

You would not enter the same 1099-MISC into both places.

You'll find detailed information here: https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/2893577-does-a-1099-misc-mean-i-m-self-employed

**Answers are correct to the best of my ability but do not constitute tax or legal advice.

View solution in original post

Thank you!

When I put it under business, it appears under personal too and when I look at that, it wants me to enter deduction stuff again??
scrilla33

Same thing is happening to me and it is really frustrating.  My understanding is it shouldn't be in both sections, but if you delete it from the personal section, it automatically then gets deleted from the Business section.  Any help out there for this?
TomD8
Level 15